Everyday Stuff…

“The storms of this life shatter our plans. They tear through our world and destroy our hopes and dreams. They ruin sunny days, flatten the structures we depend on, and shock our world-views. Hello Hurricane is an attempt to sing into the storm. Hello Hurricane is a declaration: you can’t silence my love. My plans will fail, the storms of this life will come, and chaos will disrupt even my best intentions, but my love will not be destroyed.”

-Jon Foreman Lead Singer of Switchfoot.

The New Switchfoot CD “Hello Hurricane” drops today. I’ve been listening to it non-stop since yesterday. (my wife pre-ordered it for me for my birthday last month)…I’m very happy with it.

**********

Still working on the stress management… yesterday was a good day.

We went back to church. I have spent a large part of my life behind church doors.(Pentecostal/Assemblies of God) and I have spent the last 10 years being unsettled about that. After we moved I couldn’t find a church that “felt” like Valley Chapel did. Then some things in life got dark and I retreated from church and lost nearly a decade “looking for a church that felt like Valley” Finally… found a little church in near by Vernon NJ that fits nicely. So I am rebuilding that foundation too. It isn’t lost on me that returning to church has lightened some of my load.

**********

“You can safely assume that you’ve created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.” – Anne Lamott

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly be broken.” – CS Lewis

**********

I hate the cats who live here.

**********

I am finding every day that I can not do things on my own, they always fail. It’s an easy church way of saying “without God…” I can do absolutely nothing on my own. I can’t get up in the morning, I can’t make coffee, I can’t drive to work, I can’t breathe…or be a father to my kids or a husband to my wife…I can’t write this blog post…

John 15:5

 5“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

“Apart from me you can do nothing”  …that is huge.

I think recognizing how small we are as human beings (who live like we have it all figured out) is a step towards accepting the fact that we are only human and extremely flawed and have God-shaped holes in our lives.  The vacancy is the space be between God and man’s sin. The Greatest Story ever told (over and over) is that God bridged that gap…himself and provided a way across the chasm. That is LOVE.

The primary theme in everything, written word, recorded song etc is LOVE. Too much of it or too little of it. The best and worst of us is displayed through our love and compassion for others. Mis-guided or pure, in the name of and in spite of. Love is the under lying theme of the Bible and Christianity. It’s been soiled and ravaged and misinterpreted and min-understood but it’s always been about Love.

It’s universal. “All you need is love” the Beatles even said so…

and to quote a song on Switchfoot’s new CD:  “All your dead-end fury is not enough…you can’t silence my love”

Amen

**********

Be well, Scotty

 

Published in: on November 10, 2009 at 9:48 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebz1016.wordpress.com/2009/11/10/everyday-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is a great post, Scott. I like Switchfoot’s music – Stars is one of my favorite. I wouldn’t want to go through the challenges my husband and I have faced in the last two years (infertility and RCC) without the steadfast love of God. He is my all in all. Life only makes sense because of Him. Be blessed!


Leave a Reply

