Twitches…

Not exactly “suddenly” but I have noticed a particular twitch (read: tremor) in my middle finger on my right hand that has developed some frequency in the last couple of months. It has actually spiked a lot in the last few weeks, or so it seems.

Of course the mind wanders and the ego self diagnoses thanks to WebMD…but I have no idea what the hell is going on. All I do know is my middle finger tenses up just before it moves…involuntarily. It’s very rhythmic and keeps a beat. It moves from side to side like it has a mind of its own and then…just STOPS.

Several minutes can pass, sometimes hours…but never days. I have been tracking it since January first and have cut back on the caffeine as coffee can be a factor.

So far my research has led me to something called Essential Tremor. Certainly given it’s frequency my wife is asking me to see our PCP sooner than later (my plan was to wait until the end of the month)…

Symptoms of Essential Tremor are as follows:

Tremors may occur when you move (action related) and may be less noticeable with rest, they may come and go, but generally get worse as you age. They get worse with stress, caffeine and certain medications and may not affect both sides of the body the same way.

Treatment: DRUGS. Mostly anti-seizure medications.

Regarding possible causes of these tremors: alcohol withdrawal, cigarette smoking, hyperthyroidism, something called: Pheochromocytoma, too much caffeine, use of some meds and whatever Wilson’s disease is…

Of course I don’t know anything yet. And of course there could be a possibility it could be Parkinson’s disease as well. The side bar on the pages I printed about this mention other people who searched for Essential Tremor also searched for…

Parkinson’s disease, Generalized anxiety disorder, dystonia, major depression, acute lymphocytic leukemia, movement disorders and stroke.

I have no idea what is going on with my right hand. I know when the tremors are going to happen based on the tension in my fingers just before it happens. It is very strange…I have no control over that finger when it is moving. No sir, I don’t like this one bit.

 Bottom line…”It’s always something” it’s always gonna be something…nothing you can do about it.

When I know more, I’ll blog it. 

Be well.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebz1016.wordpress.com/2010/01/05/twitches/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

