I always wake up with the munchies

“We weren”t supposed to be there, but fate brought us together. We kissed beneath the thunder and held each other close. She was barefoot standing in the rain-soaked road, her hair ruined from the heat and the rain, we were covered in sweat and her dress clung to her body like wet tissue paper. We had just made love and did so because we were in love and everything was right with the world at that very moment…” -S.Ebisch

******************** 

“747 fell out of heaven, crashed thru the roof of  seven eleven. You’re burpin’ up a slurpie things get hazy, reachin’ for a twinkee now you’re pushin’ up daisies…Do you know where you’re gonna go? ”  -Audio Adrenaline

********************

“Good sex, Bad Sex, Right Sex, Wrong Sex. I always wake up with the Munchies” -J. Tropper

********************

“I got debts no honest man can pay.” – B.Springsteen

*********************

“Love can mend your life, but love can break your heart” -G.Sumner (Sting)

********************

“It’s just subtle, like… a white wine buzz” -J.Tropper

********************

“Things turn out best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out” -John Wooden

********************

“Don’t spend a lot of time imagining the worst-case scenario. It rarely goes down as you imagine it will, and if by some fluke it does, you will have lived it twice. When things go bad, don’t run, don’t hide. Stick it out, and be scrupulous in facing every part of your fear. Try to be still. It will take time, but you will find that even the gravest problems are finite and that your choices are infinite.” -M.J. Fox

********************

“Pay attention to what’s happening around you. Read the book before you see the movie.” -M.J. Fox

********************

A lot of random things enter and leave my mind all day. Some things stick around longer. Everything I quoted above I gave credit to. I wrote the first one on my ride home from work tonight.

They say writers are working even when they are staring out the window. My mind is always racing some place. I still like to believe I might have a novel in me somewhere. How and when I’ll wrap my head around it is any one’s guess.

Sometimes life just forces it out of me. It gets scribbled down on paper before it’s lost forever and other times…it slips away just as quickly as it came to me in the first place.

Maybe the first paragraph is a dream I had. An image that entered my head. A romantic ideal shared by two lovers lost in real life between punching in and out, hurried lunches and traffic lights. Smothered by bills, play dates, dishes and bank accounts.

Maybe we just need to get back to a disconnected life. Life before modern convienence and interruption. Life before driving home talking on a cell phone or texting your boss that you’re not coming in today. …

In that vein I am trying to read more. Read more of everything. I have two books started and a third one in the wings. My wife and I are swapping books. We finish one and leave it for each other. We don’t have the same exact interests in authors but by swapping books we are expanding our horizons and it creates new shared interests without even trying. We trust each other’s judgement and how much effort does it take to try a new author?

We however watch the same TV shows. Neither one of us has a favorite show the other can’t stomach. In fact we always sit down to watch what is on the Tivo together. It’s a shared experience. We end up laughing together and replaying what we missed several times because we were laughing so loud often at the same exact thing. And usually we end up laughing at how hard either one of us was laughing if it tickled us a certain way.

Sometimes a half hour sitcom takes an hour to watch.

********************

“Grow old along with me, The best is yet to be, When our time has come, We will be as one, God bless our love,
God bless our love

Grow old along with me, Two branches of one tree, Face the setting sun, When the day is done, God bless our love
God bless our love

Spending our lives together, Man and wife together, World without end,World without end

Grow old along with me, Whatever fate decrees, We will see it through, For our love is true, God bless our love
God bless our love “

We had this song played at our wedding in 1996. The sound system in the church crapped out on us that afternoon. But it was still a tender moment summed up perfectly by the smart Beatle.

“I know what he told you all, but the walrus was Paul.” (paraphrased by me/ Glass Onion) -J.Lennon

********************

“Have a good night.” (this is what I said to every checked in guest as they made their way to their rooms at any hotel I worked at. I still catch myself doing this to customers bidding them a farewell…and I’m not in the hotel business anymore…)

Some habits never die.

Be well, Scott

Published in: on July 22, 2010 at 6:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebz1016.wordpress.com/2010/07/22/i-always-wake-up-with-the-munchies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

