Oh and one more thing…

In the interest that  this will be my last post for some time I was looking for something profound to post here. One last hurrah for a while…because who knows how long I’ll be gone?

After searching high and low I decided to revisit something I have blogged before. Taken from the “Tao of Pooh” by Benjamin Hoff.

I present (again):

‘THE COTTLESTON PIE PRINCIPLE”

Ahem…it goes as follows. (perhaps you’ve heard this one before)

Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston pie/A fly can’t bird, but a bird can fly/Ask me a riddle and I reply: Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

Cottleston, Cottleston Cottleston pie/A fish can’t whistle and neither can I/Ask me a riddle and I reply: Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie/Why does a chicken, I don’t know why/Ask me a riddle and I reply: Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

*********************

1. A fly can’t Bird, but a bird can fly. (Things are as they are)

2. A fish can’t whistle and neither can I. (Recognize your limitations)

3. Why does a chicken, I don’t know why. (We don’t know everything and that’s ok)

…Bottom line: We need to recognize our inner nature and work with things as they are, when we don’t we get into trouble.

Now that we know the principle, we can look at it’s applications. No two snowflakes, trees or animals are alike. No two people are the same either. Everything has it’s own inner nature. Unlike other forms of life though people are easily led away from what’s right for them. Because people can be fooled. Inner nature can not be fooled.

The way of self-reliance starts with recognizing who we are, what we’ve got to work with and what works best for us.

That’s it. In something of a nutshell (edits made here are mine)

********************

With that I am off. To concentrate on NaNoWriMo, start that other cartoon project perhaps, now that I have learned my daughter (my 5th grader) is sharing the cartoons with her friends too, like her little brother has been. They are building my fan base from the ground up. They are finding me an audience. Now if I can only get some parents on board…

I’m not seeking world domination here but a little interest above the grammar school level would be cool.

I’m going to write and draw and live life away from cyberspace for a while. We still have some stuff to do in real life. 

I should be back though, all in good time…But if I fail to return look for me out there once in a while. Google me now and then, check the cartoon blog I might post a “random doodle” from time to time. You can always check the magazine section of the book store. I’m a disposable information junkie…magazines are like crack to me.  

Otherwise, be well. Be good. Watch out for each other. Buddy up, always use the buddy system.

And one night, when you’ve got nothing to do…pop some corn rent and watch “The Odd Couple” (1968) Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon. MY ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE! I can’t tell you how many times I have watched this movie in the last 20 years since I first caught it as a kid. I was still living with my parents and probably still in high school at the time. Almost 25 years ago…sheesh.

Dawn surprised me with a DVD copy a number of Christmas’ ago and every once in a while I’ll pop it in and recite the dialogue like an under study waiting in the wings.  I never fail to laugh out loud.

But enough about me…what about you?

Will you read other blogs while I’m gone? Let me know which ones. we might have some in common.

ok.

That’s it. I’m going…

Hang in there. It has to get better, eventually. We’re all in this together.

-Scotty.

Published in: on October 18, 2010 at 7:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebz1016.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/oh-and-one-more-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

