We can’t afford to Dabble

This guy Tyler Burkum was in a band I used to follow called Audio Adrenaline (they broke up a few years ago) and now he’s cut his own record. http://www.tylerburkum.net/home.html

his My Space page: http://www.myspace.com/tylerburkum I really like the track “Hurricane”

*********************

I am still searching for my true north. A setting on my internal compass I can’t find. I am trying to nail down some focus and stay on top of it. It’s as hard as hell…

*********************

Sometimes I wonder about people…

*********************

I am reading (or have pages marked/dog-eared in) four different books right now.

*******************

After a recent rumble (stupid argument, like always) with my wife of forever many years I suddenly feel that much closer to her after all this time. It’s like I just discovered her. This same woman who has faithfully been by my side through all the shit since the beginning. I don’t understand it. Just like that.

***********************

It’s quiet in the house now as the kids are settling into their daily school routines. I just dropped them off and my wife is at work. It’s Tuesday morning. I have my coffee, my broken lap top and music being provided by Tyler Burkum (see above links). It’s cold outside, more than small jacket weather really. Winter is setting in. I hate winter.

***********************

“too much love to contain
with the force of a hurricane
that’s what i felt inside
the day i met you”

-Hurricane (Tyler Burkum)

**********************

 Change your mind, change your life.

*********************

Life is too short to dabble…. We can’t afford to be tepid with things or people. We need to be all in or nothing. There can’t be mediocrity. There can’t be just enough to get by. It literally is ALL or NOTHING in most cases if not every case.

Taking liberties here and there for the sake of some part-time escapism is us lying to ourselves. Breaks in life are nice and we should take them, I have no problem with breaking up the usual monotony but if or when that diversion begins to be all-encompassing we have to decide if we have a reason to invest more into a hobby or side gig.  

We can’t afford to dabble. Life is all or nothing.

*********************

An example of All or Nothing: “If you’re going to try, go all the way. Otherwise don’t even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives, jobs. And maybe your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery, isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance. Of how much you really want to do it. And you’ll do it, despite rejection in the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you’re going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods. And the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It’s the only good fight there is.” -Charles Bukowski (Factotum)

*************************
I’m committing to going all in, making my art (whatever it is, visual or otherwise) and shipping it. Getting it out there. I was using NaNoWriMo to just draw cartoons this month. I planned on using the month for just that but I am only finding the time to doodle enough to keep the muscles warm. And right now that’s ok. (that is more than I had last month) I have plans to explore the internet as the vehicle it is to get my stuff out there. Good, bad or otherwise I’m committing to getting something out there and see how or if it survives. (stay tuned for more on that)

**********************

My cousin is working it out and delivering new music (soon) http://elisagirlando.com/ Elisa Girlando

And here is another cousin of mine also working it out and delivering new music http://www.myspace.com/cussesmusic he is in a band called: “Cusses” (from Savannah GA) My cousin is on guitar. Scroll down for the video. Another sample from Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkri1pk9YpU&feature=related (I don’t know who the suddenly filmed woman for no reason is…?!?)

They both have days jobs (last I checked) and they are making the time to deliver their “product” to the people.

 I’m not getting any younger…I need to set an example for my kids that the drive to “Go and Do something” is in their blood, not to just settle into mediocrity and be ok with it. Create it and ship it. Get it out there, whatever it is.

Me first…it has to start with me. And it is already.

******************************

be well.

Published in: on November 9, 2010 at 9:20 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebz1016.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/we-cant-afford-to-dabble/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I know this is a few years late but I am glad I could be a part of your soundtrack.

    T-O


Leave a Reply

